Sewing the Belize Shorts by Itch to Stitch

As June progressed and the summer became warmer, I realized that I had only one pair of shorts!  I didn’t have a shorts sewing pattern in my pattern collection and didn’t feel as if I had the time to sew, so I looked at my favorite thrift stores.  No luck!  Then I saw the Itch to Stitch summer solstice sale and snagged the Belize Shorts and Skort pattern.

It took me most of the month of July to get these shorts sewn up, but I’m so happy I made the time!  Each pair sewed up quickly…within a couple of hours.

IMG_20170725_110810_173

First, I made Version B (flat front with pockets) from this olive green twill.  My measurements put me between a size 8 and a size 6.  I read some reviews by other bloggers, and based on their experiences, I almost sized down but figured I’d rather have them too big and take them in than too small!  However, I could have sized down because I did have to take them in!

20170725_113152-COLLAGE

These shorts have fit into my closet seamlessly!

Next, I made Version A (front pleats with pockets).  I used a cotton/rayon/spandex blend.  The stripes had me the moment I saw them!  Because of the stretch of this fabric I ended up sizing down to a size 4.  I also added one and one half inches in length…but not at the lengthen/shorten line — this would have also lengthened the crotch and that length was perfect.  I just wanted them a tad longer, so added the length to the middle of each leg.

I love these so much!  I wasn’t sure the stripes would work well with many shirts in my closet, but I’ve been surprised to discover how much I can wear them with!

20170725_113005-COLLAGE

The #sewmystyle pattern for July was the Valley Blouse by Cali Faye Collection.  It is a lovely blouse and I’d love to make it someday, but this month my closet needed some shorts!

What did you sew this month?

Leave a Reply

