June #sewmystyle

June’s #SewMyStyle pattern is the Briar T by Megan Nielsen Patterns.  I bought this pattern as a Christmas present for myself in 2015 and have made it several times (here, here, here, here).

I’ve been looking for an easy yet polished t-shirt for a while now.  I even picked up a few to try on this spring when my life was too busy to sew.  All were too short and none fit quite right…I keep reminding myself that this is WHY I sew!

MN Briar T Dress 1

I picked up this rayon/poly ponte knit because I wanted a dress with a nice drape but that would NOT cling, and it was perfect for this dress!

I made the same size I usually make (size small) until the pattern line of the front crop piece.  Then I just angled the pattern from the side seam to the edge of my fabric (so scientific!).  I wanted a bit of flair/swing for easy movement but it to fit well in the shoulders and bust.  I added bout 25 inches from the cropped length to the bottom hem.  (I did end up shortening it by a couple of inches when I made the hem so that it would finish just below my knee.)

MN Briat T Dress 2

This is a super easy dress to throw on and go, still look put together, yet be comfortable.  And the slightly longer length makes it perfect for “mom-ing”!

MN Briar T Dress 3

I’m now dreaming of a long sleeved version in french terry for fall and winter…

Leave a Reply

