Happy (Belated) Resurrection Day!

I’ve been so busy home schooling, sewing and living life that actually posting about my sewing fun as gotten pushed to the wayside!

The #sewmystyle pattern for March was the Virginia Leggings by Megan Nielsen.  I love her patterns (see HERE and HERE) but as I am one who firmly believes that “leggings are NOT pants” I passed over this pattern in favor of sewing Easter clothes for my kids!

IMG_20170413_140404_375

Ruthie’s dress was sewn from a pattern I picked up from the thrift store for 50 cents (Simplicity 1817).  She is a size 10/12 and it is hard to find patterns for her that aren’t too “little girl” and not too “grown-up” either.  I think this one is great!  It also includes a couple shirt variations as well as shorts.

IMG_20170413_135833_841

My first attempt at Hannah’s dress unfortunately didn’t work.  It was too small and no good way make it bigger.  According to her measurements it should have fit, and it may have but only for a short time.  I decided not to finish it and just whip up a quick peasant dress with added ruffle collar.  So glad that I did!  The large ruffle is so fun and the peasant dress style will fit for years!  It worked out well that the vintage sheet I thrifted to use for fabric was huge! I still have a bunch left!

IMG_20170413_135706_553

Poor Asher doesn’t get many mom-made things; just lots of mom-mended things!  Right now he loves ties and wears one almost every Sunday.  But, he had no bow ties.  I let him pick the fabric for his Easter bow tie and used this free pattern from Delia Creates.

IMG_20170413_140507_259

There you have it…how #sewmystyle turned into #sewingformykids!

And a few more pictures!

Leave a Reply

