#sewmystyle February

The #sewmystyle project for February is the Saunio Cardigan by Named Clothing.  I looks like a fun and easy sew, but my closet does not need any more cardigans (I have four).  So, this month I focused on sewing up some new pieces to replace articles in my closet that were worn out or were now too big(!).

Briar T by Megan Nielsen

I love the Briar T!

 

img_20170217_132857_900

Dove Blouse by Megan Nielsen

I’ve made this pattern a couple of times, trying to find my size (medium at the shoulders graded to a small at the waist) and trying to find one that felt like “me”.  I think I’ve finally done it and can’t wait to wear it this spring!

img_20170227_140604_301

York Blouse by Seamwork

img_20170227_140532_941

I’ve used the York Blouse pattern before and thought it would work well to refashion a button down shirt that I’ve had for a while.  I used the buttons down the back and changed the neckline a bit.  I was able to do this because the original shirt was too big and this gave me the extra fabric I needed to “turn it around,” add the bust darts, and redo the sleeves.  I’m thinking about adding some ruffled white eyelet trim to the bottom hem…any thoughts?

Get your first month of Seamwork for only $3 with this link!

Weekender Knit Dress from Craftsy

I bought this pattern as a kit from Craftsy over a year ago and sewed it up with the provided fabric…and it was too big!  I finally got around to making another…one size smaller! (The sizing in this pattern is strange to me — 3 inches difference between the medium and large in the bust measurement.  My bust measurement puts me in the size large, which is the first size I made, but was too big in the shoulders, bust and all around.  This time I made a medium, which fits much better!)

img_20170217_133832_727

Panel Tee by Sew Different

img_20170227_131742_780

I’ve had this pattern for a while and finally made it!  I used up the scraps from my Briar T’s and Weekender Dress.  It is a boxy fit but very flattering with the natural shaping the contrast side panels provide.  Now I really want to make the dress version!

These were all pretty fast and easy sews…that is kind of how I work!  I’m starting a new non-sewing project in March, so I don’t plan to sew much for the next couple of months…although I do want to make the girls (and maybe myself) Easter dresses…

What did you sew this month?

Leave a Reply

