January #SewMyStyle

I’ve made it my goal for 2017 to (loosely) follow the #sewmystyle challenge by Blue Bird Fabrics.  Sewing one garment per month (for myself) feels achievable, even with homeschooling and various other life commitments and is a good way for me to add to my handmade wardrobe.

I will be “loosely” following the challenge because I will not be sewing the exact pattern each month.  I do want to try to sew a similar garment but will not necessarily stick to the designated pattern.  My personal style doesn’t fit each pattern and I want to sew something I know will truly fill a hole in my closet.

For January, the pattern chosen was the Toaster Sweater version 2 pattern by Sew House 7.  This is a lovely pattern and with both versions would have tons of remix and personal-ization potential, but I already had this pattern which is very similar.  So I choose to save the money and use the pattern I already had.

img_20170106_142221_828

I had already made this pattern before so it sewed up quickly and easily.  I had to figure out a few things on the fly since I used two different fabrics (knit and woven) and was going for a layered look.

I sewed a size medium which is loose and comfortable.  It would make a pretty, dressy sweater sewed in a sweater knit and sized down.

I used this rib knit from Jo-Ann Fabrics for the body of the sweatshirt.  It is a nice quality and thicker than your average knit, so it makes for a warmer top, which is great for winter.  I got a yard and a half and used all of it for the body…it is only 43 inches wide, so keep that in mind when figuring your needed yardage.  I used this flannel for the sleeves, bottom and tie.  I also got a yard and a half of flannel and could have easily done with only a yard.  I also used this project to try our a twin needle.  It easily gives a professional finish to knits:

img_20170106_144407_786

I am pleased with my sweatshirt and plan to wear it many times this winter.  It is a grab and go top and since it appears to be layered, it adds some visual interest without trying!

img_20170106_142211_875

I may need to make another in this fun sweatshirt fleece:

fleece-dots
Sweatshirt Fleece

So many ideas, so little time…

Save

2 comments

Leave a Reply

