Sewing Culottes

This post was originally published at turn2thesimple in March of 2013…I am re-posting it now with a few updates and added links.

Ruthie will be 5 at the end of the month…5!  I can’t believe how fast it has gone!  For her last two birthdays I have sewn her a dress.  I wasn’t planning on doing it again this year because I didn’t want to pull out the sewing machine and deal with it so soon after moving and with Hannah still not being on a great schedule.   BUT, Ruthie asked me what I was going to sew her for her birthday…so how could I say “no”?!

I took a couple days to think about what I should make her and I came up with the idea of culottes.  Ruthie loves skirts/dresses but also has no concept of modesty yet and likes to jump and tumble.   I thought culottes would be a good compromise.

Enter Google.  Here are some fun ideas I found:
Tessa Bloomers
Culottes
Knit Culottes
Split Skirt
At first I was going to make the Tessa Bloomers because I thought they would be easiest.  But after thinking about it, I decided to make the Culottes because I liked the look better.  I’m glad I did!

 

The pink polka-dot ones turned out the best.  Both fabrics came from the Wal-Mart bargain fabrics.  The pink is a quilting cotton-blend.  The plaid is a linen-like blend — I thought this would drape nicely but the stiffer cotton-blend actually worked better.  Both are cute on and work well for hiding underpants!  And the best part is that they came together really quickly.  Only about an hour of sewing time each!

All ready for Ruthie’s birthday and still a month to go!

Hannah will wear these next summer (2017) can’t wait to see how she likes them!

Leave a Reply

