Flutter Sleeve Dress

Once again, it is time for another Project Run and Play challenge!  This month it was a cute flutter sleeve top pattern.

I picked up this fabric from a thrift store three years ago; I got 4+ yards for less than $5!  I have no idea what it is made out of…it is super soft and drapey (is that a word?), light weight but not at all see-through.  When I got it I was pregnant with Hannah and made myself a peasant-style maxi dress out of it.  I decided it was time to up-cycle the fabric into a dress for Ruthie.  I used a bit of loosely  woven cotton left over from shortening some curtains for the yoke.

My original plan was to make this dress with puffy elbow length sleeves so she could use it year round, but I didn’t have enough fabric.  I’m glad it didn’t, because I really like how the flutter sleeves turned out!  I made them wider and pleated them as I attached them instead of just gathering them.

I added an A-line skirt with box pleats in the front and back.  Perfect for dancing!

This dress has a super fun vintage feel to it because of the fabric pattern and contrast yoke but still easy and modern…but my favorite part are the sleeves!

Check out more fun flutter sleeve tops and dresses from Project Run and Play!

Leave a Reply

